Tired of the Same Old Story

Alright. That’s it. I’ve had it!

I am so done with not accomplishing my goals. Done with living a mediocre life. Done!

I am so over saying that I’m going to do something and never get it done. Ever since I was 12 years old, I told everyone that I was going to be a famous author. 16? 17? My friends are choosing solid career paths like medical professionals, therapists, and teachers.

Me? Ha! I’m still pounding my drum that “I am a writer! I’m going to be famous!”

Age 19, I go away to college riding upon the financial tails of my dear parents. My degree? English.

People often asked me, “Oh, an English Degree. Do you want to teach?”

Every time, I’m sure my nostrils flared, “No. I want to be an author.”

To which they’d give me a pitying glance, an uncomfortable pause, or a look of awe that I’d have the audacity to actually try to be an author in this world.

Well, call me a glutton for punishment, but I’ve always had a hard time ignoring my heart song.

Except now, at 25, with my English degree in hand, I’m back in my parents’ basement working at a low paying job with no publishing deal in sight.

Which is why I’m sharing this rant with you 🙂

I’m tired of making excuses. I’m tired of floating along in my life without direction or influence.

I’m making a stand today. A stand to live an extraordinary life. A stand to follow my heart song no matter what trail it leads me to.

Even if I get battered and bruised on the way, I don’t care. The scars will show that I’ve lived. Truly lived.

This year, 2016, I’m bringing out all the stops. Nutrition, Finances, Relationships, Exercise, Goals, Business, and Everything. I’m tired of wasting my time on Facebook and mindless computer games. I’m tired of staying up late and sleeping in for no reason. I’m tired of constantly saying something, but never following through.

I want it to end.

I’m not sure how, except maybe every month I’ll set a new goal. I’ve been working on myself alone for so long, I need to be held accountable. Please help me. Help me stay motivated and finish my goals. I think that if I stay accountable to you, I may actually succeed.

July is almost over. Since that’s the case, I’ll make my goal relatively easy this month. For the next 4 weeks, my goal is to write 15 minutes a day and publish a post here every week. From there, I’ll continue that goal and move on to finances. I think if I continually make new goals and share my experiences with you, I can say goodbye to my old life and start something better.

What’s something you want to accomplish this month or even this week? Please comment and share! Your stories will help me continue to push forward!

Thank you!

Just Believe

Leave a Reply

