You are Worth More than You Give Yourself Credit For

A good friend of mine said that phrase to me a couple days ago after I told her not to be afraid to tell people what they need to hear. And boy, her words have stayed with me and lodged in my brain, unable to escape.

Why? Why do those words really dig deep and make me ponder?

Let me share with you a story 🙂

A few years ago, when I was a fourteen year old teenager struggling to survive junior high, I came to an interesting conclusion about myself and those around me. They were happy. I was not.

At that time, I knew what depression was. I understood that it was dark and bad, but I had no desire to go and see a shrink about it. Even though at that time people were beginning to realize the illness for what it was, I still held the belief that if I was strong and slapped a smile on my face, I’d beat it. I didn’t need to see a doctor. I wasn’t sick.

I just wasn’t happy.

stocksnap_8nk7qtgqy8

It’s almost painful to share this with you, because I don’t really want to talk about depression. It stirs up a lot of the past, things that I would rather leave buried in my journals in my dresser drawer. Poisonous things that I used to think about myself.

But, I know that there are a lot of people in the world who have experienced or still do experience those feelings.

You are not alone.

stocksnap_ryklc0oeql

Our mind is a powerful thing. It can create anything that we allow it to. Truly. Back in those days, I fed myself lies about my worth, my friends, my family, and my image. Part of me tried to battle the darkness, but the other side continued to believe and feed those lies.

However, one person, through all the self-hate and loathing I experienced, stuck with me. That one person alerted others to my aid and led me closer to hope. My Savior.

And you know, I don’t want to preach. I only wish to speak the truth from my heart. I would not be sitting in front of this computer typing this message to you if it wasn’t for him. I would not be alive.

So, you can take that as you will, but that’s my belief and it has pulled me through a lot of hardship. My belief has given me hope where I had none.

Even if your beliefs are different, I hope that there is something that gives you hope every day. Something that gives you the strength to step forward into the darkness. I know I wouldn’t be able to without it.

Anyways, I believe strongly in positive words and using light to combat darkness. If you are experiencing these feelings, if you don’t give yourself enough credit, if you beat yourself down, I want you to do this for me.

Look at yourself in the mirror and tell yourself that you are worth more than you give yourself credit for.

You are doing your best.

stocksnap_jb35tcnfve

I’ll be the first to admit that my best isn’t always good enough. But that’s not going to stop me from trying. And really, with the help of my friends, family, and Great Creator, my best is good enough. And yours is too.

Continue to smile. Push yourself to get out of bed and listen to uplifting music. Fight the good fight. Do something fun on your bucket list! Make a bucket list! Believe and hope for better days. Exercise! Eat healthy! Get a good amount of sleep!

All that crazy stuff everyone tells us to do all the time that we really should be doing but sometimes choose not to do just to spite people? Yeah, start doing those things 😉

Create an outlet, something that helps you to express yourself. Nobody else has to see it. Let whatever is screaming inside of you out.

Then, let others in 🙂

stocksnap_wqyc8se7i9

Because you have people rooting for you. Cheering for you and I’m cheering for you too. Take care of yourself because you’re worth it.

And you know, the fight doesn’t always get easier. There are still days where I struggle. Days where I just want to hide from the world and not think about anything.

But I’m learning and I’m growing. I have so many things to be grateful for, like good friends and family who are willing to tell me what I need to hear, not just what I want to hear.

And I am so grateful for their support.

What has helped you find hope? What has helped you push through the darkness towards better days?

Please share below 🙂

 

 

7 thoughts on “You are Worth More than You Give Yourself Credit For

  1. I can agree and testify that happiness is a choice, an exercise of agency. We can’t always comtrol circumstances, the impact that others have on our situation, or even our own body but we always get to choose our perspective and response. That is not to suggest that a simple choice is always easy. Two men standing at the bottom of a well, one sees only darkness and despair the other sees hope and freedom, the difference is perspective, one is looking down the other up. Even in my darkest times I choose to listen to good praise and worship music to help me focus on gratitude, to be active in missionary work because helping others helps me remove focus from my own woes and I love to run because it helps me change my brain chemistry by creating endorphins which interact with the receptors in your brain that reduce your perception of pai

    Liked by 1 person

  2. l,have always be afraid of every thing and, everyone ,being alone for soooo long didnot help, shuting every one, out, learning to love me, was very hard at first, didnot know how,keep every thing inside, hurt me alot, knowing l have to love myself befor l love others, what people to like me so l go out of my way to,please them, that got me no where.had one best friend in high school, now l,am older have no one. hard to let people in, how to you trust, people when they hurt, you, have to learn to let go, when it hurt, get connect do not know how to let go ,so l keep myself away from, other,not good, have to speak up for,myself and love me,l,am praying for me, and asking GOD to guide me, he has keep me. alive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing that Liz. I’m praying for you too. Even if it may not feel like it, we are never alone. Keep getting up every day and keep on fighting. It’s hard and can be terrifying to let people in. About a year ago I broke up with someone who I really cared about and ever since then it’s been difficult for me to open my heart up to that kind of a relationship. Now, I feel that God has been helping me to heal. I’m still afraid to put my heart out there. It’s not going to be easy. But I know the result will be worth it. And I will find someone who will love me for me and everything will fall into place. And I know that if you keep putting your trust in God, He will help you find those people who will love you for you. God bless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

