Five Tips To Help You Reach Your Goals

1. Clean Up Your Space

StockSnap_VF51PE5SCF

It’s amazing what a little organization can do for your ego. I recently moved to a new state and for the past month have been living in a room that just looked and felt like a pig sty.

And it destroyed my creativity!

Every time I entered my personal space, I just wanted to veg out and crash. Definitely not a good motivational boost.

When I finally buckled down and moved my shoe rack into my closet and my leatherworking stuff into the basement, it felt like entering a brand new room. I was so excited, I decided to go ahead and clear up my desktop space as well.

That move really got my creative juices flowing. Every time I open my laptop now, I get a warm fuzzy feeling of pride. (Course, it took me until 4:00 in the morning to do… Figures…) But it was worth it!

2. Exercise

I don’t know what it is, the endorphins, or what, but exercising is an amazing boost for finishing your projects. Two days ago, I finally decided I was just going to get over it and exercise for twenty minutes.Exercise

It. Was. Amazing.

The exercising itself was brutal of course, but afterwards, I was so pumped I decided to get into the shower and put on my war paint! (Haha, what I lovingly call my make-up. It’s the only thing that gets me to put the stupid stuff on :P)

And let me tell you, when you’ve got in some exercise and your best clothes on, you just feel like strutting. When you exercise, you get your crap together. It’s just plain and simple.

3. Listen To Motivational Stuff

IMG_0002

The kind of things that you listen to make a huge difference to how your day will play out. At my current job, there are moments where I have to mentally blast some intense music in order to get moving. My job can be very fast paced and it’s easy to drown if I’m not bookin’ it!

What you listen to can make or break you. Anything that you feed your brain will influence your actions. So make sure that food is the best stuff possible! Motivational Speakers, Ted Talks, Uplifting music, anything that helps you get to where you want to go.

4. If You Don’t Know What To Do, Just Do Something

IMG_0003

It often takes a small step of faith to move in the right direction. I don’t know how many times I’ve opened a link or clicked on a webinar out of curiosity and it led me to a bunch of other opportunities that paved my way forward.

Sitting around, scratching your head in confusion will get you nowhere fast. Make a decision and just go for it. Decide what you want to do and take the steps to get there. Set a date. Buy a ticket. Set a goal. Get in your car and drive if you have to.

Stop waiting around and just do it. You won’t regret it. 🙂

5. Dust Yourself Off And Try Again

IMG_0004It’s going to happen. You’re going to trip and fall. It’s probably going to hurt. It’ll probably be frustrating. You know what? It’s okay.

Get up. Try again. Failed one goal? Try another. Losing interest? Try something else. Learn from your mistakes and try again.

Haha, I can’t even tell you how many websites I’ve tried to set up and failed. How many blogs I’ve created and given up. But I’m not done yet.

Sometimes all it takes is that little switch and you find yourself in the right place at the right time. Just keep getting up and trying.

 

Life is full of ups and downs. Sometimes it’s hard to find the motivation to keep following your dreams. In fact, it’s often really hard. 🙂

But as long as you keep learning and trying, you’ll get there some day. It doesn’t matter how long it takes. All that matters is that you’re on the right track.

Just Believe

2 thoughts on “Five Tips To Help You Reach Your Goals

Leave a Reply

